FAQs

About: General Information, Swimming, & Fitness

 

GENERAL INFORMATION

 

What is the best way to learn about programs and the facility?

Browse the website or pick up the latest copy of the Y program brochure.  By accessing the website, you can actually register for programs and there are directions on how to proceed.  You can always ask one of the helpful Y staff for information.  If you wish to speak with a Director regarding the Y, call 724-452-9122 and ask to speak with the appropriate Director or Professional staff member listed below.

 

Jim Farone,  Property Manager   jfarone@bcfymca.org

Karen Guise, Senior Program Director   kguise@bcfymca.org

Kathy Hensler, Healthy Living Director  khensler@bcfymca.org

Debb Huber, Business Manager   dhuber@bcfymca.org

Sandra Ihlenfeld, Vice President, Healthy Living and Community Outreach   sihlenfeld@bcfymca.org

Dhy Keefer, Administrative Assistant   dkeefer@bcfymca.org

Rachel McKeown, Membership Director rmckeown@bcfymca.org

Carrie Ohorodnyk, Executive Director   cohorodnyk@bcfymca.org

Brad Pontius, Program Director  bpontius@bcfymca.org

Mitch Schall, Aquatics Director  mschall@bcfymca.org

Lisa Swift, Membership Coordinator  lswift@bcfymca.org

 

 

How much does membership cost?

Please check our Membership Types & Rates page for more information.

 

What are the building hours?

You can view our current hours of operation on our homepage, here.

 

What does ‘draft’ mean as a way to pay for a membership?

A draft is when you have your monthly payment debited on the 1st or 15th of the month. You can use your checking account or credit card  (Visa, MasterCard, American Express & Discover are accepted)

 

What do I do if I lost my Membership ID Card?

You may purchase a new card for $5 at the Member Registration Desk.

 

How do I cancel my membership?

You may cancel at any time however we do require 7 day written request for termination.  See our Membership Termination Policy.

 

Do I need to register for classes (like yoga or Zumba) or programs?

Some classes do require registration, others do not.  Refer to our most current brochure or speak to a member service representative for more details.

 

 

Is the Y handicapped accessible?

An elevator is available for access to the upper and lower levels of the facility.  Our Aquatics Center is equipped with a handicap ramp as well as accessibility lifts. We have a Family/Special Needs Locker Room also available.  For any special needs, contact the Membership Director.

.

What are SilverSneakers® and Silver&Fit?

SilverSneakers® and Silver&Fit are health and fitness programs for active older adults.  Age qualification and participation is dependent on the member’s insurance coverage.  Please contact a Membership Representative at 724.452.9122 for more information.

 

What are the KidQuarium hours?

Please view the KidQuarium information on the Membership Benefits & Facilities page.

 

What’s the policy on bringing a guest?

Please view our Guest Pass information.

 

Can I come in or bring a friend in just for a day?

Please view our Day Pass information.

 

Can my child’s grandparent/caregiver/nanny bring them to swim lessons or other programs?

Yes. Caregivers are able to accompany children to swim lessons and other Y programs. However, to use the Y without the children, the caregiver would need to contact the Membership Director for membership options. 

 

Can I use other YMCAs?

View our AWAY (Always Welcome At a YMCA) Policy and the Reciprocity (My Y is Every Y in PA) page.

 

Return to top

 

SWIMMING

 

How do I sign my kids up for swim lessons?

You can sign up at our membership desk or online.

 

Do you offer private swim lessons or other programs?

Yes. We offer private and semi-private lessons for all ages, in addition to our group lessons. Please contact the Aquatics Director for more information.

 

Do I need to sign up for the water exercise classes?

No, simply drop-in. It is a first come first serve basis and we take the first 25 participants.

 

Do I need to wear a swim cap in the pool?

No. We do ask you to tie back your hair if it is shoulder length or longer.

 

Do you have a whirlpool?

Yes, the whirlpool may be used by any member over the age of 18.

 

What are the requirements for kids in the pool who are not yet potty-trained?

Children need to wear a swim diaper and bathing suit. This is very important. If we have an accident in the pool, we have to close it for at least 30 minutes.

 

Return to top

 

FITNESS

 

How do I sign up for a fitness orientation?

You can sign-up for an appointment at the desk in our Fitness Center.

 

What do you have that’s good for a beginner?

We have many classes for all levels. You will see 1-Beginner, 2-Intermediate and 3-Advanced noted below each class on the group exercise schedule. Feel free to inquire with our membership or fitness staff to make a suggestion based on your interests.

 

Return to top